Non-Affiliated Experts

Individuals not affiliated with ITIF who have participated in ITIF events or co-authored an ITIF publication.

Pete Engardio

Senior Writer

Valérie La Traverse

S&T Counsellor
Embassy of Canada

Valérie La Traverse has been science and technology counsellor at the Canadian Embassy in Washington since 2005. Her role is to represent Canadian government S&T departments and agencies, monitor S&T policy developments in the US, advise Canadian policymakers, and develop partnerships between Canada and the US. Read more »

Tim Kelly

Lead ICT Policy Specialist
The World Bank

Morten Elbæk Petersen

Managing Director
National Danish e-health Portal

Morten Elbæk Petersen was born in Odense, Denmark, in 1961. He holds a Master’s degree in Economics and Social Science from the University of Odense.

Morten Elbæk Petersen has been Managing Director of the National Danish e-Health Portal – – since May 2002. Read more »

Christina E. Wanscher

Chief Consultant, Head
International Unit, MedCom

Christina E. Wanscher has worked for the MedCom organisation since 2004 and today she is heading the International department of MedCom. MedCom International has 12 employees and is currently involved in more than ten European and nationally-funded projects. Read more »

Hannu Hanhijärvi

Executive Director
Health Care Programme, Sitra

Mr. Hanhijärvi is the Executive Director for the Health Care Program at Sitra, the National Fund for Research and Development in Finland. In this capacity, Mr. Hanhijärvi is responsible for Sitra´s Health Care Program which was started in late 2004 to continue for five years. The planned budget for the program is €100 million and involves roughly 20 persons. Previously, he was Director of the Life Sciences Investment Team at Sitra where he led an investment team of 10 people to develop a company portfolio of 35 to 55 biotech and life sciences companies. Mr. Read more »

John Day

Professor of Computer Science
Boston University Metropolitan College

John Day has been involved in parallel processing, operating systems, and advanced computer networking research since 1970 when he was involved in the design of protocols for ARPANet and its successor, the Internet. He managed development of the OSI reference model, naming and addressing and the development of a recursive application architecture. Since 1984, he has pioneered the development of network management architectures, as well as several related products and protocols at every layer. Read more »

William Lehr

Research Associate
Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Labratory

Dr. William Lehr is an economist and industry consultant. He is a research associate in the Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (CSAIL) at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, currently working with the Communications Futures Program (, which is an industry-academic multidisciplinary research effort focused on road mapping the communications value chain. Previously, Dr. Read more »

Christopher Yoo

Christopher Yoo
Professor of Law, Communication, and Computer and Information Science
University of Pennsylvania Law School

Christopher S. Yoo is Professor of Law, Communication, and Computer and Information Science, and Director of the Center for Technology, Innovation, and Competition at the University of Pennsylvania.

Peter Westerstråhle

Science and Technology Counselor
Tekes (Finland’s National Agency for Technology and Innovation)

Peter Westerstråhle has been the head of Tekes Washington office since August 2007. His main responsibilities include promoting R&D collaboration between research institutes, companies, and universities in Finland and the US as well as facilitating the commercialization of these R&D efforts. Prior to his current position Peter Westerstrahle worked as a technology adviser first at Tekes Tokyo office and then since 2005 at Tekes Washington office. He received his M. Sc. degree in chemical engineering at Helsinki University of Technology in 2000. Read more »